Forum Member

U Turn on Red Arrow?

Hi, I'm in Arizona, and the apartment I live in has a "Light Rail" that blocks turning left into the complex. The only way you can enter is if you are traveling eastbound. If you're westbound you have to go to the next light (2 blocks) and wait at the light and do a u-turn. Now there is not a "no-U Turn" sign and there is a LOT of room before the crosswalk that I could execute a u-turn without entering the intersection....would that be legal?

The only thing I can find about the Red Arrow is it forbids that direction, but since I'm not turning left....?

Thanks for your time!

Forum Member

I'm not an expert, but a u-turn starts as a left turn. And being from Ca. the laws may be different (which I doubt), but you can not negotiate a u-turn in a busness district (22102 cvc) unless you are in an intersection and apartments are business'. I would check your u-turn sections in the vehicle code book. I've had motorist argue in court that they did not make a left turn, that they made a u-turn. The courts have up held the citation.

Armed Babysitter

Based on your description, the red light is still controlling movement in that direction. It would be the same as running a red light.

Making a u-turn is just a continuous left turn, so the argument that "I didn't turn left - I made a u-turn" would not hold up.

Retired Sergeant - CHP
    This is all I could find in the AZ Motor Vehicle Laws

28-644. Obedience to and required traffic control devices

A. Unless otherwise directed by a traffic or police officer and subject to the exemptions granted the driver of an authorized emergency vehicle in this chapter, the driver of a vehicle shall:

1. Obey the instructions of an official traffic control device applicable to the driver that is placed in accordance with this chapter.