Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By topdog1

Thread: texas civil service test

Forum Member

texas civil service test

I am an officer from Wisconsin (11 years +) can anyone tell me what the civil service test is like. What would be on it and what to expect.

Forum Member
    I have yet to take one, but I believe they very department to department. Is there any one department your are interested in?

Forum Member

There is a test that is given by TCLEOSE or the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Training and Education. You must be ceritified by them in order to be a Peace Officer. On top of that, most larger departments have their own test. I know that in my academy we had our academy final, covering material such as department policy and procedures. We then had to take the TCLEOSE exam to be certified by the State. By passing the TCLEOSE exam you are licensed by the State, but you have no enforcement powers until you are hired on and commissioned by an Agency. You can find examples of the TCLEOSE test here:

http://www.texaspolicecentral.com/practice_tests.html

Forum Member

I took a civil service exam about 4 years ago. Nothing to worry about. It had basic math, some reading copmprehension, some memory stuff. Nothing bad.

SOI
    Surly Sergeant
    As someone already mentioned, there is no Texas specific civil service exam. There is a state specific licensing exam and then each department can set their own entry standards. You would have to contact TCLEOSE to see exactly what you need to do to become Texas certified. It use to be that if an out of state officer had the same or higher training as the Texas requirements, all you had to do was take the state test. But that has changed.