Atlanta Police Department

Tried doing a search for the APD and came up with nothing every time.

I was interested if anyone has had any involvement or experience with the Atlanta Police Department and what I can expect during the hiring process.

I spoke with a recruiter today and after going over my concerns about me being DQed by the Clayton county Police Department (I intend on reapplying as soon as I am eligible again) I was told that i meet all of the APD requirements. Obviously if I get hired on with the APD i will stick with them.

The Clayton County Police Department is by no means a small agency. I believe that in a larger agency one gains an exponential amount of experience rather than in a smaller one. I am a resident of Clayton County and the agency has an abundance of opportunities for those who are interested in a Law Enforcement Career. This agency is my first choice. No knock on the Atlanta Police Department by any means. I love the city of Atlanta. and If I can't be a Clayton County Officer I would proudly wear the APD badge for as long as they allowed me to.

My point is the recruiter for the Atlanta PD that I talked to seemed very positive even after I told her why I was DQed from the Clayton County PD. I specifically asked her what the requirements for Driving record were and was told that I met their standard. She then asked me several other questions about criminal record (arrests, and such) and was very enthusiastic about me getting my application in ASAP because she wanted me to complete the process so that I can qualify for the next class.