Forum Member

Tax write-offs for Law Enforcement

I was thinking about doing my own taxes again this year and have heard that as a police officer, I might be able to deduct certain things. I bought an AR15 patrol rifle, several extras for it (optics, mags, sling etc...), and lots of ammo for both the rifle and my handgun. I've heard both arguments as to whether these things can be deducted. Any personal experience with this? I'm sure I'm not the first. Thanks.

Relocation Expert
    Quote Originally Posted by rookie2812 View Post
    I was thinking about doing my own taxes again this year and have heard that as a police officer, I might be able to deduct certain things. I bought an AR15 patrol rifle, several extras for it (optics, mags, sling etc...), and lots of ammo for both the rifle and my handgun. I've heard both arguments as to whether these things can be deducted. Any personal experience with this? I'm sure I'm not the first. Thanks.
    Disclaimer: I am in no way a tax expert!

I've always done my own taxes. My experience, unless you own a home or have some other large dedution, its easier and more economical to use the standard deduction. However, if you do itemize, a good rule is "Did you get it for work?"

There's some good info on this form.
    http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p529.pdf

One man Wolfpack
    If you have to pay the phone company to keep your number unlisted, you can claim that.

If you have bought Text books for college you can claim them as well.

M-11

More cowbell!
    All firearms I have bought that were used for duty and as seconds along with all accessories I have written off. I don't always carry the same guns when at work but that is the reason I bought them.
    Example: Though I am issued a weapon I bought a 1911 and now carry it. ALL replaced parts, mags, holster, and lights were written off.
    Example #2: All ammo bought for the range and equipment (eyes/ears) have been written off.