Forum Member

Unhappy expired pa inspection

Hi
    In May, I graduated from college and moved into the philadelphia area. Also at that time my inspection expired. I had just started a job where I take the train to work everyday. I have not driven my car in months (the insurance and registration are up to date). Today I had to drive my girlfriend to pick up her car from the mechanic. The trip is less than 2 miles roundtrip and on the way back I was pulled over and given a ticket for expired inspection. Is there any chance I could fight this ticket and win.

thank you

Former Deputy Sheriff

There's probably a chance that you could "fight it and win" -- but then there's also a chance that a 6-foot tall female Swedish supermodel will hit on me at a bar tonight and offer to take me back to her place to properly ring in the New Year!

Seriously, though, a 'state inspection' sticker ticket is probably the easiest one for an officer to write. It either is or is not expired -- not much wiggle room/chance for error -- as with moving violations, radar, etc.

Pay the fine and move on. No points, no insurance hike and no mandatory court appearance for you.

**** {Some friendly advice from a former LEO in another state} ****

The comments above reflect my personal opinion as a private citizen, ordinary motorist and all-around good guy.

The aforementioned advice should not be construed to represent any type of professional opinion, legal counsel or other type of instruction with regard to traffic laws, judicial proceedings or official agency policy.

------------------------------------------------

"Ignorance on fire is hotter than knowledge on ice."

Forum Member