Forum Member

1.5 mile run time...

What is a good goal to set for the 1.5 mile run??? The academy standard is 15:00 flat and is the same for Men/Women and /age...

I have been running for a couple months now 3 times a week and my best time is a 9:51...is that a good time for a 35 yr old????

Forum Member
    Southern Kalifornia (Peoples' Republic of)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuffy View Post
    What is a good goal to set for the 1.5 mile run??? The academy standard is 15:00 flat and is the same for Men/Women and /age...

I have been running for a couple months now 3 times a week and my best time is a 9:51...is that a good time for a 35 yr old????
    Yes! After 30, if you can do 8 minute miles (12 min for 1.5 miles) I think that is pretty dang good shape. Your 1.5 miles time of 9:51 is indicative of sub-7 minute miles, VERY impressive! 'Specially if any kind of hills are involved. Keep in mind, that if this is your time on a treadmill, it is not indicative of real-world, on-the-street running.

EDJ
    "It's a game of cat and mouse. It's a game of hide and seek. Albeit games with deadly consequences. Like most games-the better you know the rules, the more likely you are to win."

Sine Metu
    That is a good time. I just graduated from our Academy in June and my best time was 11:40 and I was in the top third of my class. EDJ had a good point about hills and street versus treadmill. Also...keep in mind that Academies usually use 1.5 mile runs as a measuring device. For actual PC you will most likely run longer distances. Be prepared for distance. Slow your pace which sounds great so that you can do 3-4 miles with ten minute miles...that requires endurance and not just strength. I always tempered speed with distance, don't ignore them both. Good Luck and do push ups and sit ups...too!
    Well first, life dealt you a bad hand, then you decided to double down.

Forum Member

Yes, that 9:51 is on a treadmill, my actual track time is 9:57, not far off.