Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Forum Member

Do you like being a Police Officer?

Do you enjoy being a Police Officer? Why or why not? Do you ever wish you did something else with your life?

Thanks for any replies

Forum Member
    I've wanted to do this all of my life and after I recently got hired I am presently going through the academy. I can't really speak as well as the guys who have been on the road all their life, but I can't wait and I won't let anything take away the joy that I get from this job.
    The above comments reflect the personal, off-the-record, unofficial opinions of the individual posting them only, and in no way, shape, or form should be taken to indicate any particular opinion, policy, or belief by the poster's or any other agency, governmental entity, organization, or corporation. Thank you and have a nice day.

Forum Member

Retired now, but when I was asked if I liked being a cop, my typical response was, "Beats working for a living." I absolutely loved it. This was what I was meant to do with my life. My problem now is deciding what to do with the last half of it.

Forum Member
    I've wanted (and still want) to be many things. In other words, I've wanted to try out lots of careers. So far, I've trained for for four (teaching, EMS, accounting, law enforcement), and I've worked in three (haven't done/won't do accounting).

I've learned that some were for me while others weren't. I ended up not liking EMS although I enjoyed the classes. In teaching, I simply got tired of it. I was working on a master's in school administration when I left the profession after a few years, and I think I could enjoy admin. However, classroom instruction got old. I was trying to dabble in P.E. which I would probably have liked. Accounting wasn't for me. I don't like to sit that long although I love the idea of having a job with an office and desk. I just don't want to sit at it all day.