Forum Member

Sheriff Security Officer

I currently work as an in house armed security officer for a high profile county facility. The benefits here are decent and the pay isn't awful, at least by security industry standards.

I recently applied for a position as a security officer for the L.A. county Sheriff's department and was wondering what the process/job entailed. I believe the pay STARTS around $15 per hour which is around what I'm making now and I assume the benefits would be better.

Another officer I work with said working as a Security officer for the City of Los Angeles offers better benefits and higher pay but I haven't been able to find out much about it.

I tried getting into the LACOPS, which does pretty much exactly what I do now, only with post and academy training, but at 48 years of age they were just looking for an excuse to DQ me, which they did, when I failed a couple questions on the polygraph.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Unit15
    I currently work as an in house armed security officer for a high profile county facility. The benefits here are decent and the pay isn't awful, at least by security industry standards.

I recently applied for a position as a security officer for the L.A. county Sheriff's department and was wondering what the process/job entailed. I believe the pay STARTS around $15 per hour which is around what I'm making now and I assume the benefits would be better.

Another officer I work with said working as a Security officer for the City of Los Angeles offers better benefits and higher pay but I haven't been able to find out much about it.

I tried getting into the LACOPS, which does pretty much exactly what I do now, only with post and academy training, but at 48 years of age they were just looking for an excuse to DQ me, which they did, when I failed a couple questions on the polygraph.