Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Forum Member

Parking lights at night?

I am curious to know if it is legal for officers to sit on the side on the road at night with no lights on. Lately it seems as though every cruiser I see on the side of the road has there lights off trying to catch speeders.

Ten Six
    Why would any think that is illegal?

Banned

Is this a serious question???

I am a police officer, and if I think that it is what I need to do to prevent speeders, or enforce speeding laws then I will do that. Provided that I am not a road hazard. You are also assuming that catching speeders is the only enforcement the officer is doing.

It kills me when people think that they know exactly what I am doing in my squad when I am sitting there. I might be looking for a stolen car that just came over dispatch and it is supposed to be coming down the road I am on. You dont know what I am doing, and frankly, you dont have to know.

Retired Sergeant - CHP
    "I am curious to know if it is legal for officers to sit on the side on the road at night with no lights on..."

But of course. Why wouldn't they be able to do so?

"...Lately it seems as though every cruiser I see on the side of the road has there lights off trying to catch speeders."

So? They are paid to enforce the law. If you are driving at a legal speed you have nothing to fear. Just make certain you follow the law and don't worry about what the officers are doing to make certain you do!!!!
    Be courteous to all, but intimate with few, and let those few be well tried before you give them your confidence!

[George Washington (1732 - 1799)]

Verbal Sniper
    I am not trying to catch speeders when I do that. I'm trying to take a nap after eating my donuts.

I hear a saucer of cream calling my name....

I don't agree with your opinion, but I respect its straightforwardness in terms of wrongness.

Forum Member
    Hey Smurfette is that Officer in thelink from your Department?