Forum Member

Smith/Wesson M&P VS. Springfield XD

Does anyone have any information comapring the Smith M&P and the new Springfield XD. I an looking into a new duty gun and am trying to narrow my choices down. The other gun I am interested in is the PARA ORD. Limited. Thanks

Forum Member

I have never fired the M&P, but I did have the chance to run some rounds through a xp and I liked it. It is a very well built gun, and I like the grip safety. I have never heard a good thing about the Para's especially as far as reliability. I'v heard they have feeding problems, but I have no first hand experience. I hope that helps a little.
    "My faith, my country and my family will guide me; nothing more, nothing less" -Gen. Tommy Franks

No Longer Active

Quote Originally Posted by mooseyard
    I have never fired the M&P, but I did have the chance to run some rounds through a xp and I liked it. It is a very well built gun, and I like the grip safety. I have never heard a good thing about the Para's especially as far as reliability. I'v heard they have feeding problems, but I have no first hand experience. I hope that helps a little.
    The Para website states that new round extractors have been implemented in their weapons, making for much more reliable extraction.

Forum Member

Just got the M&P 40 love it. The Springfield is nice to but I still like the M&P better. I like how you can change the grip size on the M&P and the gun dont have much recoil compared to other 40's. The trigger pull is about the same maybe the M&P is a little better. If you Google the M&P you can find lots of reviews. There is a lot of people with Glocks and Springfields that wrote reviews and liked the M&P the best.

No Longer Active

I know that looks are not so important in one's choice of a gun, but the M&P looks the business, way better than a Glock or an XD.

Glocks are still the benchmark, though.

Forum Member