Forum Member

Driving A New Vehicle WITHOUT License Plates

NOTE:
    I posted this in another forum but was unable to get a clear answer. I need an answer from a LEO from Maryland or someone that knows the MD law. Thank you all.

Hello everyone,

I am a mechanic at a new car dealer. Pretty frequently we (as mechanics) have to inspect new vehicles before they are sold. One of the things we do in the inspection is test drive the vehicle and fill the tank with gas. So here's the question: Does the new car have to have a "Dealer Tag" (or any other license plate) on it to be legal to drive on public roads??? Some guys at work told me that there is "RULE" that says we dont need a tag to drive a brand new car if we are in a certain mile radius of the dealership. And someone else told me this years ago. I have always thought it was B.S. I mean, it doesnt make sense to me. I'm pretty sure any vehicle operated on a public road must have a registration. Anybody heard of this "special rule"? I'm located in Maryland if it makes any difference. Thanks.

Hustler
    You need to have a Dealer Tag.
    "An excuse is worse and more terrible than a lie, for an excuse is a lie guarded."

SWH
    Forum Member
    IT must have at least dealer plates. Those are easy to come by working at a dealership, so I don't see why it would be an issue for your supervisor to give you one...

Forum Member
    How does the cop know you didn't steal the car?
    Kelly

We are the thin blue line
    between you
    and all the money in the world.

And no you can't have any.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by SWH
    IT must have at least dealer plates. Those are easy to come by working at a dealership, so I don't see why it would be an issue for your supervisor to give you one...
    Dont take this the wrong way, but you have no idea what goes on at this dealership. ITS INSANITY But yes you are right, in a perfect world; it should be easy to get a D-tag at a dealership.