Forum Member

Bushmaster vs. Colt

I need some help. My chief has approved the Colt M4A3 (6920) for department use. I have a Bushmaster M4A3, same gun essentially and, when I asked for permission to carry it on duty, he said the only problem he has is that he doesn't know much about Bushmaster (typical). Does anyone have insight here or know of any links/articles I can use to support my cause?
    "Being responsible sometimes means ****ing people off."

Forum Member
    Call Bushmaster and explain your situation; I
    Kelly

We are the thin blue line
    between you
    and all the money in the world.

And no you can't have any.

Forum Member

I don't know of specific links for your comparison, but you might look at www.ar15.com for more info.

Several years ago when I was looking for an AR-15, a couple of older & wiser firearms enthusiasts recommended Colt, Bushmaster, or Armalite. (One shoots competatively and is a part-time gunsmith, the other is a serious collector and hobby gunsmith).

I ended up getting the Bushmaster (less expensive and more readily available). I don't shoot it much, but it has been extremely accurate (~1moa)and reliable.

prepared+opportunity=luck
    Quote Originally Posted by nocode
    I need some help. My chief has approved the Colt M4A3 (6920) for department use. I have a Bushmaster M4A3, same gun essentially and, when I asked for permission to carry it on duty, he said the only problem he has is that he doesn't know much about Bushmaster (typical). Does anyone have insight here or know of any links/articles I can use to support my cause?
    You might check out the attached link: http://www.bushmaster.com/le/agencies.htm

Forum Member

Bushmaster is on par with or, in some cases, better than Colt. I don't know if it's only for civilian models, but Colt AR's have (IMHO) three big cons: