Forum Member

Question Probation Officers Unarmed???

Hello,

I posted the following reply to a question about the arming of probation officers and off-duty carry in the California forum. Wanted to find out what other Probation and Parole agencies throughout the nation are doing. As I state below...I'm a Probation Officer in Northern California. I can't imagine stepping out of my house unarmed, considering who we deal with every day (felons and parolees). Officer Safety is number one, I'm far from a gung-ho, cowboy officer...I just like to go home to my family at night. Wondering if other states are arming their Probation Officers. It amazes me that it's actually a debate!!!

I'm a Probation Officer in Northern California. Our entire department is armed, Glock 22 .40's. I'm simply amazed that there is still a debate whether Probation Officers should be armed or not. Are you kidding me?? Last time I checked, EVERY PERSON I COME IN CONTACT WITH IS A CONVICTED FELON...many are past parolee's that have re-offended and for some ridiculous reason have been placed on probation again. Every home I visit I've come across what we call here the "3 for 1" deal. I come across two unknown probationers or parolee's that I had no idea were in the home. Who knows if they're a parolee at large looking at going back for a long time. They have no idea I might be doing just a routine, "how are things going?" visit with my probationer. How many of our clients haven't slept for 7 days when we visit due to their current "tweak" run with meth?? Any danger there??