Forum Member

I want to be a police officer, what should I do?

I am 20 and will be 21 in October. I am a Security Officer and I would like to pursue a career in law enforcement. I am not sure whether I should go to college for an Associates in Criminal Justice first or just go right in. Does anyone have recommendations? Thanks lots!
    Last edited by benhowden; 03-05-2004 at 03:14 AM.

Forum Member

It depends on how old you are. If you are under 21, then finish whatever college that you can until 21 and then start testing everywhere. If you are over 21, then start testing. Shotgun approach. Look at becoming a reserve at a local department and ask the officers to tell you the questions that they encountered during their hiring processes. Then have them start quizzing you. That gets you prepared for the oral board. Get a book on civil service testing that they have at the libraries so you don't have to shell out any money. Check all of them out until you find one that covers the most topics and then go out and buy it. Ask officers in your local area what their department uses for the entry level testing. The next biggest decision is whether you want to stay where you are or are you a traveller. The Puget Sound area is where I am from and we are going to be in a bind here soon. One department is starting up from scratch and that department will hire 65 officers, Seattle 80 officers, Federal Way 6-10, Tacoma 30 and on and on. So decide where you want to end up. The other issue to consider is if I had a chance to do it all over again, I would go Department of State Security so that I can travel the world on the government's dime and if I got bored with DSS than I could transfer easily to another Govt agancy and still keep pay, seniority and bennies.

Forum Member