Like Tree8Likes
  • 2 Post By Michigan
  • 1 Post By Iowa #1603
  • 1 Post By cantorzorn
  • 1 Post By Mack_357
  • 2 Post By JB2245
  • 1 Post By TheOneManBand

Thread: How did you guys make the decision?

Forum Member

Question How did you guys make the decision?

Hi guys I was wondering how did you guys make the decision between law enforcement or what you majored in if you went to college? Right now I'm majoring in computer information systems and have an opportunity to persue a career in computers and make double what police officers make but I've wanted to become a police officer my whole life and now I can't decide what to do. Any help would be great. thank you

Police Officer
    I didn't make a decision. When I was 6 years old I just knew.

Listen up guy, you need to make your own life decisions. It makes absolutely no difference why any one us chose the path we took.

-Good luck
    Certified troll.

Forum Member

Very true sir. I guess I could combine them right? I could do the computer thing and gain experience for possible federal jobs and local police department jobs doing IT.

It's Complicated
    One of the best cops I ever worked around had a degree in Mortuary Science.
    He kept his funeral director's license updated during his entire career as a cop
    Che likes this.

Forum Member

Major in computers and then apply for an LE job. You may never even qualify or be chosen for an LE job. If you are able to land an LE job give it a year or two.

You will probably know within the first 6 months if it is for you. If you do not like it, quit and get a computer job and then you can "make double what police officers make."

If LE is your calling you can always find a way to make your degree work in LE.
    Last edited by cantorzorn ; 04-08-2013 at 04:39 PM.
    Che likes this.

Forum Member