Page 1 of 2 12 Last
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Does the NYPD let you go on military leave if you are going to OCS (reserves)???

Forum Member

Does the NYPD let you go on military leave if you are going to OCS (reserves)???

sorry again for so many posts, like i said in anothe thread Im just looking for info.

anyways...if i went into the reserves as an e-1 (or would it be higher since i have an associates degree?) and wound up getting a bachelors degree could i 1.) Go to OCS to become a reserve officer? and 2.) would the NYPD allow me to take a military leave (assuming i was working in the department) to go to OCS???

Forum Member

Does The NYPD Let You Go On Military Leave If You Are Going To OCS (Reserves)???

Let you? They have to let you on military leave. It is the law. Google this and you will get details.

Forum Member
    yep, they will. Just make sure it's all after the academy though to avoid headaches

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by gunslash View Post
    yep, they will. Just make sure it's all after the academy though to avoid headaches
    thanks guys. yea it will be long after the academy IF im hired. I wont even be able to go back to get my bachelors til a good 3 years in according to some guys on the forum. Should be able to get the bachelors by the time i hit top salary, again IF im hired...

Forum Member
    You can get E-2 with a associates. Yes, if you get your 4 year degree you can later apply for OCS and become an officer. Yes, your employer should grant you military leave while you are on any military orders to include schools such as OCS.

Forum Member
    48 college credits will get you E-3 enlistment contract in the Army.
    NYPD Exam
    Exam: 8051

NYC Corrections
    Exam:3300

Baltimore City PD
    In the process..

And a few other exams...

NYPD Aux.

Forum Member