Forum Member

LAPD - Out of State Lateral

I am currently a Police Officer in the Baltimore Police Department, and am looking to go out west and join the LAPD. Eventually, I hope to obtain the California POST waiver. I've discovered that the CA POST offers a three week class, where one could obtain the certificate. Or, one could apply as a walk-in, and get it over with that day. I do not have the available time to to take the 3 week class, and am hoping that I can pass the exam as a walk-in.

Could anybody please advise me if they've done this before? Do any worthwhile study guides or materials exist for the CA Post Waiver exam? Also, those whom are currently in the LAPD, would anybody be willing to PM me and share their opinions?

Thanks!

-The Wanderer
    Last edited by TheWanderer; 10-15-2012 at 06:00 PM.

Forum Member
    Quote Originally Posted by TheWanderer View Post
    I am currently a Police Officer in the Baltimore Police Department, and am looking to go out west and join the LAPD. Eventually, I hope to obtain the California POST waiver. I've discovered that the CA POST offers a three week class, where one could obtain the certificate. Or, one could apply as a walk-in, and get it over with that day. I do not have the available time to to take the 3 week class, and am hoping that I can pass the exam as a walk-in.

Could anybody please advise if they've done this before? If so, are there any worthwhile study guides or materials available for the CA Post Waiver exam? Also, those whom are currently in the LAPD, would anybody be willing to PM and share me their opinions?

Thanks!

-The Wanderer
    Wanderer, he's not on here a lot anymore.....and he's LASD, not LAPD....but if you don't get what ya need on the thread, you might want to send PM to LA DEP. LA always has good answers to things. Good luck. (Oh, and one last thing....you know Calif has a crappy economy, right? Just in case you hadn't thought about it. )

Forum Member