Forum Member

Contradicting Gun Laws in VA

Hello,

I am a certified Armed Security Officer under the Department of Criminal Justice Services in Virginia. I am also 19 years old. In VA, I can't legally own a handgun, nor can I buy the ammo for a handgun til I am 21 years old. However, I am certified to use one while working.

I'm confused as to how I am able to get a certification as an Armed Security Officer, yet I am not able to have a handgun nor buy ammo for one. It seems a bit contradicting, especially since I believe most security companies require a security officer to have their own gun in the caliber they are qualified with.

So, how am I able to get around this or am I just stuck? I honestly don't know what to do about this. Also, I'm hoping I put this forum in the right subject thread.

Thanks,
    bag.0032
    Last edited by bag.0032; 03-28-2012 at 02:42 PM.

DAL
    "Official Non-Person"
    If you managed to get certified, you must have had a gun and shot a qualification course. Presumably, someone else lent you a gun and provided you with ammo.
    Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. -- Aldous Huxley
    Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity. -- Albert Einstein

Forum Member

I rented the gun and bought the ammo from the Institute/range.

Forum Member

You don't OWN the gun you use on the job, so that's your loophole.

Forum Member
    Never understood those laws myself. GA has a similar exception for LEOs.
    Last edited by westside popo; 03-30-2012 at 08:17 PM.
    Government does not solve problems; it subsidizes them.
    President Ronald Reagan

All we ask is to be let alone.
    President Jefferson Davis

Forum Member