Forum Member

Night Vision Goggles

On a recent hunting trip, I really couldn't see well enough to shoot anything. I was just wondering how well night vision goggles work, and if there are any that someone could recommend.

Forum Member
    I was a night vision instructor in the military... They would work well for scanning the area to find what you are looking for, but are not going to work very well for sighting in with a weapon. (The sights would be to close to the goggles for a good sight picture.... You basically focus them so everything about 20+ feet is clear (Optical infinity) If you focus them so you can see up close everything will be fuzzy beyond about an arms reach.

I am not a hunter so I don't know what the laws are on using lasers but the night vision will pick up the laser beam that you cannot see with the naked eye that would probably be the best way to shoot. I've only used Gen III Military NVG's so I can not recommend a good brand or how well the non-military stuff works, but I would'nt be suprised if the stuff you get at hunting stores is better since the 3rd gen military goggles are getting pretty old. I would just go to your hunting store and ask to try some out, if you've never used them before they are pretty fun to play with, wearing them for 8 hours flying in a helicopter is a different story.
    Last edited by Lucas; 03-23-2012 at 10:52 PM.

Forum Member

There are many brands available in the market, even you can also search on Internet and buy online.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by mnpilot View Post