Forum Member

Recieved an Uncharacterized Discharge From Armed Forces

Hello everyone I received a Discharge 15 yrs ago from the Service and it was an Uncharacterized /failure to meet fitness standards.

Dallas PD said they will not accept my application for Police Officer.
    I told them its not like I was arrested, or did something out of Character.

I have a Masters Degree in Criminology and a clean background and other departments have accepted my applications.

I just want to live and work down south.

Does anyone know if background checks show that if you served in the Military ?

Forum Member
    Background Check or Background Investigation? They are different... Regardless, whatever agency you apply to will find out about military service and discharges... Be honest, up front, and find an agency that will take you. I can promise you that you have a better chance of being hired if you dont try and omit the fact you served and were booted ... Most requirements i know of say you need to have an 'Honorable Discharge" so finding somewhere that is a little more lax may be difficult, but if you lie to an agency about serving you can kiss your shot goodbye before you begin, agency's talk.. lie to one and you may shoot your chance at others.

Forum Member
    Have you tried to get that changed into an Honorable discharge. You know you can appeal I would check into it if I was you with VA

Quote Originally Posted by dante810 View Post
    Hello everyone I received a Discharge 15 yrs ago from the Service and it was an Uncharacterized /failure to meet fitness standards.

I have a Masters Degree in Criminology and a clean background and other departments have accepted my applications.

You will be asked if you served in the military and what your discharge status is for pretty much EVERY police department in the United States.

Most departments will not hire you if you do not have an Honorable Discharge........That is pretty much a hard line in the sand.