38. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

2 5.26%
  • No

36 94.74%
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Forum Member

Odds of me getting hired?

Hello every one. My name is Chris and I am 18 years old. I am posting this question because I am curious to what you all think the odds of me getting hired by a police department at 18 years old is. I would love to hear from every one. I would especially appreciate it if someone who does hiring for police departments or someone who was hired at a young age (21 or younger) to comment on this.

Here is a little of my background,

I am 18 years old.
    I have my high school diploma. (I graduated 6 months early)
    I am currently in college attempting to obtain my Associates in Criminal Justice.
    I was in AFJROTC (Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps) for three years in high school (I would have done the fourth and final year but I couldn’t do it because when I graduated early I had to double up on classes and ROTC was not an everyday class)
    I am currently a police explorer (I just started this month)
    I am taking a citizens police academy here in my home state (South Carolina)
    I took over five classes throughout junior high school and high school that were criminal justice or criminal justice related.
    I have had my driver’s license for 2 years now and I have never (knock on wood) received a ticket, been pulled over, or got into a wreck.
    I have NEVER done ANY type of drug.
    My criminal record is also spotless.
    My work history is average I would say. I started working 1 week after I turned 15 in ninth grade. I worked at a restaurant for one year and seven months. Then I moved to the company I am at now and I have been there for two years.
    I am in great physical condition.
    I have absolutely no debt. I have no credit so I would think I have no credit history. The only bills I have are my car insurance.