Forum Member

Another "do I have a chance" thread - need honest opinions -

Well, I'm sorry for having to put you through this once again but I need an honest evaluation from the pros here. Thanks in advance for taking a look.

I am a former sworn officer but for only a short time. I was hired in Dec 05 and got out of FTO in March 06. My probationary status was ended May 06. The agency allowed me to resign rather than be fired. There was never any reasoning or explanation given to me. My opinion is that the reason was not performance based but rather that I was a bit too much of a complainer as I voiced my concerns regarding the agency's lack of progression (at the time no MDT's, all hand written reports, no tasers) in comparison to the surrounding agencies.

Since then I have experienced a series of humbling events and in my opinion, gained quite a bit of life experience. To be quite frank, I feel as though I am a completely different person than I was five years ago. I got married to a wonderful woman, I moved to TN for a while to be closer to some family, worked for a short time in a DJJ juvenile wilderness therapy camp (residential employment, I couldn't cut it), and have worked a lot of security positions from parking lots to DoD classified materials. However, I have settled in with a security contractor for the past 2.5 years where I have progressed from a line officer (Security Officer 1), to account management, and now I am a site supervisor/trainer (Major) with a crew of five officers under my charge.