Thread: NCIC Expungment

Forum Member

Question NCIC Expungment

Hello, I have a question for any of you well versed in records procedures. First let me say I'm not a LEO, I am an EMT and former 911 dispatcher. I have a problem that has been an issue for the last 13 years and can't figure out how to deal with it without spending lots of money on an attorney.

I was involved in a freakish accident at a traffic light in which I pulled out into the intersection, then slapped the truck into reverse to back up, unfortunately in the process I hit the car behind me doing substantial damage to the vehicle, but none of the four occupants were injured. There was an officer parked less than a block ahead of the scene at the time, on traffic duty, from his perspective, he thought this was intentional, and arrested me on 2nd wanton endangerment, which is a class A misdemeanor here in KY, and is a reportable offense.

After going to court, the judge agreed to a dismissal of charges and an expungement of all records relating to the case. Somewhere along the line something happened and records made it into LINK/NCIC.

The city police (arresting agency), and the county court system have no record of this incident, KY state police show the arrest, but state "unknown disposition", and NCIC has the info and prints as well.

I have talked to FBI in Clarksburg, as well as KSP Frankfort, but I can't get a straight answer from them regarding getting rid of the records!

I have the original court documents ordering expungement, but they have only the county court case number, date, charges, my name, judge's signature, etc, and KSP won't honor the expungement order without my SSN and BD on the paperwork. Needless to say, this is the only paperwork in existence.