Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Forum Member

Question Inattentive Driving Ticket advice

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this and I've never been in an accident or gotten a ticket before and I'm 33 years old so I'm a little naive in how this all works. I live in Delaware and a few weeks ago I was driving down a busy road around rush hour doing about 40-45mph which was below the speed limit (couldn't go any faster due to traffic). Anyways, I was traveling pretty far behind the car in front of me when it changed lanes quickly to avoid a car that was stopped under a traffic light. The car under the light didn't have any brake lights lit like they were braking and there weren't any flashing hazard lights but the car wasn't moving so I thought it was disabled. The traffic light was green and all the cars around me were going and since I was traveling pretty far back from the disabled car I put my blinker on to move over to the right and looked in my mirrors but there was another car coming up beside me so I wasn't able to change lanes and I ended up rear ending the car anyways.

When I spoke to the police officer I told him that the light was green and I couldn't understand why the car wasn't going. He told me that they said the light was red which was why they were stopped. But no other cars were involved and I didn't push them into any other cars or crossing traffic that would have been going if the light was red. Since no witnesses stopped and I hit them, I was the one that ended up with the ticket.

After getting out of the hospital and speaking with my insurance lady, I found out that all the people in the car had several warrants out for their arrest but were never taken into custody. The person driving had a suspended license and they were hotwiring their car to get it started.