Page 1 of 10 1234 ... Last
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: My struggles from tragedy

pontiacgm01

My struggles from tragedy

It has been two years since my attack on the job. It has been a long and treacherous road toward getting my life back together. Now suffering from constant pain and mental problems as a result of my attack, it has left me wondering if I will ever be able to go back on the job again? Every day officers on the streets and inside the jails put their lives on the line in order to serve and protect. Almost everyday we endure challenging situations that take us to the brink of our own sanity. I never thought that my day would come as soon as it did for me that night. I sensed something was wrong that entire night. Yet, I continued my duties as I promised. I followed orders from those in charge of me despite knowing their decision was a bad call, a call that would result in me getting attacked. Why? Because I was an officer sworn to uphold a duty. Not a day goes by that I do not wish I could have that day back, I wonder should I have done what I did, should I have stood my ground against ranking officers?, should I have done something differently? For many of you, I hope that the day never comes when these questions haunt you day and night. I hope that you are never faced with the pain and suffering that I have just because we are officers. Our wounds heal and our scars we can hide, people move on and forget that that day ever happened. For those of us who lived it, that day will never go away, our wounds will never fully heal and our scars will always have a place. It can be a very hard road to travel and no matter the extent of our injuries, the emotional and mental pain will remain the same. It can take it toll on you as an individual as well as families and friends. We are soldiers of our community that are often forgotten by others. We can be forever changed by one single action of an individual. But, we can move forward with time, we can move on with