Forum Member

How to become a K9 Officer

I'm extremely interested in becoming a K9 police officer. I am currently a senior in college, graduate in the summer and am currently in the applying with local police departments. I also own an 11 week old high drive pure bred German Shepherd Puppy. I have a number of questions regarding all of this:

1. Is there anything I can do now, during the pre-academy/ hiring process to make myself down the line a better candidate for K9?
    2. Will my already having a dog and training her possibly for shutzhund make me a better candidate or less likely to be accepted?
    3. Knowing the prices of training and all for a purebred german lie dog is, as well as nurturing all the drive and everything is there any small possibility down the line as an officer my own dog could be evaluated to be my partner? I understand the absurdity of the question, but I'm looking at it from the standpoint of essentially a free dog and being curious.
    4. If my dog could be considered for K9 down the line, what/how do I prepare her now to ensure she could do the job and be my partner. Yes I said she, I know most K9's are male but she will likely be 80-90lbs, sleek body and hopefully a very high drive.

I appreciate your time reading, and any and all comments. I look forward to being a police officer and cant wait to get hired.

Stay Safe, and Happy Easter,

Police Officer
    1. No
    2. No effect.
    3. The department will provide you with your dog... you don't get to pick.
    4. Your dog will never be considered for police work.

Focus on getting into the academy first. Do your best. Then focus on getting hired. Then focus on getting through probation. Then focus on putting in 3-5 years. Then worry about the interview/testing to get a k9. Then worry about being the best k9 guy you can. You have no idea how far your dream is.
    Certified troll.

Forum Member