Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By John Shaft

Thread: LAPD Shifts/Watches

Police and Fire Nerd

LAPD Shifts/Watches

I'm an amateur crime fiction writer, (hopefully published one day) mainly writing about my favorite department, LAPD. Accuracy is very important to me (Jack Webb is my God, HA!) I was wondering if anyone could give me the appropriate start and end times for the typical LAPD shifts? I.E.: Morning Watch, Day Watch, Mid Watch and PM Watch. Thanks for your help. It is greatly appreciated and please stay safe.
    I'm not a cop, just a thankful citizen.

http://www.fictionpress.com/~williambushman

Forum Member

Since LAPD went to the compressed work schedule department wide in 2002 it varies. There used to be 5 watches ( am, day, pm, mid day and mid pm watches) in every division under the 5/8 schedule. Now the watches go by number ( watch 2, 3, 4, 5 might be more depending on the division). The basic watches in patrol and traffic divisions are 12 hours, which are watch 2 (days) and watch 3 (pm). They start anytime between 0500 to 0700 for days and 1700-1900 for pm. The other watches (mid watches 4 & 5 etc) vary by division size and are either 10 or 12 hour shifts, but they are mostly 10 hour shifts. All of the other details (admin, detectives, specialized units etc) are generally 10 hour shifts. There are very few 8 hour shift jobs left these days.
    Last edited by John Shaft; 02-02-2011 at 03:25 AM. Reason: correction
    c.morgan likes this.

Police and Fire Nerd
    Thank you so much! That is exactly the answer that I was looking for. This will help a lot. One more question: how often do the officers switch watches? Going from PM to Days, for example. Is that at the end of the deployment period?
    Last edited by 70David; 02-02-2011 at 03:41 AM. Reason: grammar

These aren't my pants.