Forum Member

Buying an out of state used car. License Plate and Tag Questions? Need 2? How long?

Hi,

I'm a full time college student attending school in Texas. I'm about to buy a new car and its from a private individual out of state. In her state they only have one license plate (on the back bumper). I had a few questions regarding the legality of what to do after purchase.

Hopefully you guys can help me out. Want to do everything legally.

1.) If I have a Bill of Sale, can I drive the vehicle back from her state to mine legally? I believe that she will also remove the back license plate when I go pickup the car next week. If I get pulled over, can I just show them that I just bought the car? How long do I have to get a new license plate?

2.) Since there's no front license plate, do I have to get a plate for the front? How long can I drive without a front license plate? I read that being a full time college student allows you to keep the front license plate off while you're in school, but I haven't confirmed this.

3.) The tags expire February of this year in her state. How long do I also have to get new tags? I'm not sure I can get new tags until the car is finalized in my name and I have my insurance on it. I think that process will take a while.

Forum Member

1. No, depending on the state. I know it Is illegal in Missouri and Kansas to drive without tags. Most cops might give you a break if you can produce paperwork. But they don't have to. To be safe you will need to get a temp tag at the DMV or even a drive away tag (Missouri has them, I'm not sure about other states) before you start your road trip. Time ranges on how long before you have to fully register a car, typically 30-90 days.

2. Again, not sure about Texas. But I'm not aware of any state that gives you an exception for not having a front plate due to being a student. Even if they did, you would have to deal with the hassle of being pulled over just to prove your exception.