Forum Member

Florida Penalty for possessing stolen property

I work as an LEO in a low income area and have been dealing with a surge in bike thefts (not motorcycles) among other things recently. I'm looking to add another tool to my belt and start taking individuals who are ridding these bikes to jail. As we all know you can't take someone to jail for a misdemeanor (not an exception) that does not occur in your presence (i.e. the original bike theft). Unfortunetely, the victims are claiming their bikes are only worth $150 (not that magic felony number). I've tried reading the 812 statues and can't find any penalty for possession of stolen property. According to 812.022 the criteria appears to meet what I'm look for (but no penalty is listed). Maybe I need glasses, but if anyone could help it would be appreciated.

I earned my scars, you??
    You charge them with theft if you can prove the property is stolen:

The 2009 Florida Statutes

Title XLVI
    CRIMES Chapter 812
    THEFT, ROBBERY, AND RELATED CRIMES

812.022 Evidence of theft or dealing in stolen property.--

(1) Proof that a person presented false identification, or identification not current with respect to name, address, place of employment, or other material aspects, in connection with the leasing of personal property, or failed to return leased property within 72 hours of the termination of the leasing agreement, unless satisfactorily explained, gives rise to an inference that such property was obtained or is now used with intent to commit theft.

CRIMES Chapter 812
    THEFT, ROBBERY, AND RELATED CRIMES
    812.014 Theft.--

(e) Except as provided in paragraph (d), if the property stolen is valued at $100 or more, but less than $300, the offender commits petit theft of the first degree, punishable as a misdemeanor of the first degree, as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

The charge is "Theft, Possession of Stolen Property - 812.014 (1)(e)"