Forum Member

best way to become a police officer

Hello everyone. I am currently a freshman at a community college and was wondering what the best path would be to become a police officer. I am doing ride alongs and looking into internships already but I'm more wondering what i should do for college.

Currently I am planning on majoring in psychology and transfer to a UC (University of California) and none really have a criminology major or minor. So I could do a couple of things.

A. Just major in psychology and apply to agencies right out of college

B. Go to Sac State (really well know for criminology) and major in both psych and criminology.

C. Go to a UC and major in psych and get an AA in administrative justice from the community college I am currently attending, after going to the UC; this would only take one year instead of the normal two cause I'm taking all transferable ADJUS classes i can.

So far I'm thinking about option C the most since it sounds like hiring would take about a year anyways. Also an Adult school near where i live has Reserve Officer Classes to be qualified for level 3 and level 2 reserves. Would it be a smart idea to take this classes just so you have a knowledge of being a police officer even if i don't plan on being a reserve?

I would love to know what people think, thanks for your time.

Band-aid jockey
    With the current economy there isn't a whole lot of opportunity out there. I would take your time and finish school. Option C looks the best to ME.

Forum Member

I agree with Mikey. Being a reserve will help you decide if this career is for you or not.

An Obvious problem
    Skip the criminology, take the psych courses and maybe busiess admin or public admin. Sets you up better for promotion later on. CJ is actually pretty much a waste of time for being a cop.
    Today's Quote:

"Government exists to protect us from each other. Where government has gone beyond its limits is in deciding to protect us from ourselves."