Forum Member

311 Non-Emergency Telephone Service Systems

My question is about the 311 Non-Emergency Telephone Service systems used in some cities. Do think such systems help if your jurisdiction has such a system or would you like to see such a system installed if it does not?

I live in Seattle Washington which does not have such a system. I work as a security officer, for most of my career (16 years) at large sites with multiple CCTV systems. Let me give a few examples where I think a 311 call would have been a favorable alternative to the 911 system.

1. A fellow security officer and I observed on camera, an individual spraying graffiti on the side of a building we were assigned to protect. We called 911. It was 2:00 A.M. and there were apparently no other crimes going on at moment in time and a patrol car on routine patrol just 2 blocks away. We had a response in less than 2 minutes. The officers caught him and they were happy they did since it turned out the person spraying paint was responsible for multiple tagging incidents causing over $150,000 worth of damage in the Seattle area. He was on probation for numerous such offenses and wound up going to prison for 3 years.
    2. We observed 2 individuals trying car doors on parked cars as they walked down the street. (Again early morning hours). Called 911 and a patrol car cruised by a few minutes later. Never found out if they arrested anybody.
    3. We observed a male individual walking down the street and going through a purse and discarding items from it as he went. Called 911. This time no response that I know of. We gathered up the discarded items, found some ID and called the person who said she had had her purse stolen. We returned items to her and she contacted police later to report it.