New Hampshire Law Enforcement Jobs

I'm currently a NJ resident, but am looking to move from NJ to either VT, or NH at the end of this year. The job market for Law Enforcement Careers here is flooded and the state is expensive to the point of pricing me out. I was on the list for the NYPD until the economy went down the pipes and they stopped hiring. I'm now on a 2-3 year waiting list. I want to become a police officer or state trooper, and I was wondering if anyone could give me a little information on the hiring process up there. (Here we have Civil Service, Chiefs test, and Alternate route) I currently work security as well as dispatch for a small town part time, and have a BA degree. What are the best areas to live in? Is Sheriffs Dept big up there? Thanks for any and all information!

Forum Member
    Straight from NH Police Standards And Training website @ http://www.pstc.nh.gov

Frequently asked questions about police and corrections training.

Q1. I want to pursue a career as a police, state corrections or probation/parole officer in New Hampshire. How can I enroll in the police academy or the corrections academy?

A1. Neither Academy accepts tuition students. To attend the police academy you must be hired by a state, local or county law enforcement agency in New Hampshire. Your employer will then send you to the Academy. All associated costs are borne by the State and your employer. To attend the New Hampshire Corrections Academy, you must first be hired by the New Hampshire Department of Corrections, and all costs are borne by the agency and by the State.

Q2. What happens when I complete the Academy?

A2. You are certified by the New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council as a full-time or part-time police officer or corrections officer, as applicable.

Q3. How long after I am hired, do I have to become certified?

A3. You must attend and successfully complete the training course within 6 months of your date of hire.