Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
    Forum Member

Right to Exceed Speed Limit to Pass or "Move Over"

Hi,

I'm a Michigan criminal defense attorney (boo, hiss). I'm arguing a case in my state arguing that my state's law allows someone to exceed the prima facie speed limit to either complete a passing maneuver or to "move over" (providing they complete the move sufficiently far away from the officer).

Even though you'd think that laws like this would be uniform, they are not. I was conducting a straw poll on which states allow a driver to exceed the speed limit and which don't. I can already tell you that the only decisions actually appear to be out of Kentucky, Maine, and Nebraska.

I was curious what your jurisdiction's position was on this point. I expect that my case (the People v. Me for five miles over with a perfect driving record) will plead out. My question is mostly curiosity, but I might write an article on this if I get energized enough. Nothing said here will be included in any such article.

DAL
    "Official Non-Person"
    Perhaps you could assert a necessity defense, if you were on a two-lane road.

Maybe when you began the passing maneuver, there appeared to be ample room to complete it safely, but a car approaching too fast the opposite direction necessitated your speeding up to avoid an accident.
    Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored. -- Aldous Huxley
    Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity. -- Albert Einstein

Forum Member
    There's no such exception in Florida written into the law, and we can't even cite for five over the limit unless it's in a school or construction zone.