Forum Member

Question about S&W 6904 9mm

I will be attending the basic police academy in north California as a self-sponsored recruit. Bare with me I am new to the firearm world. I am trying to save as much money as I can since I am self-sponsored. I was able to obtain a gun through a family friend; and the transaction is being done through a local dealer.
    I wanted to know peoples thoughts about the Smith and Wesson model 6904 9mm. I don't do any range time on my own, but do have a firearm certificate. I figure this might be a good deal, just to have something to train on and save a little money. Thank you all for any help or insight!
    Stay Safe!!

Forum Member

The 6904 was one of my issued duty guns for several years. Now that I'm retired I still carry a 6904 as much if not more than any of my other guns. We had several hundred issued. Very reliable and more than accurate enough. We ran nothing but W-W 115 +P+ thru ours and they held up very well.
    Your 6904 will serve you well.
    I've carried this one for well over 15 yrs.

183 FBINA

Forum Member
    Durable, dependable, and accurate. The state police here issued them for many years, before going to the Glock. Troops were allowed to purchase their old Smiths, and many did. You should do fine with this weapon.

Firefighter/Cop (crazy)
    I'm just curious how much you're paying for the 6904. You can have a new M&P for $420, if you can sweet talk the range into LE pricing (take some documentation of attendance of police academy) then you can get one with night sights and 3 mags (you will need 3 mags during the academy, if your course of fire is like OPOTA) for $490.
    Seriously, the only reason I wanted to be a cop was so I could post anywhere on this forum.

Forum Member

We carried S&W 6906 9mm for years and they proved accurate, reliable, and durable. We ran thousands of rounds through them, and at the Academy my 'repair kit' was a small bottle of lube.