Forum Member

Faulty/loud muffler

For a while I was using faulty exhaust as one of my standard OWI-enforcement PCs. And while it never came up in court, I stopped doing it because one of my fellow officers pointed out that I had no way to proving that the exhaust was faulty. I'm not a mechanic, I don't have a decibel-meter showing it's too loud, I'm not going to crawl under the vehicle to take pictures. How can I continue making those stops and help ensure that something will stick in court?

Forum Member
    Stop for other equipment violations like defective tail lamps, headlamps or registration lamps. No front plate is other thing you can stop for. Moving violations like speeding, deviating from designated lane, etc are better because they help support showing how impaired the driver may be.

As far as the defective muffler stop, you just have to articulate in your report how loud over normal the muffler is......the law states that no aftermarket muffler can make the car louder than the factory.....therfore all those mufflers you see people put on Honda's, Toyota's, etc are illegal.

Forum Member

There is no reason to discontinue stopping people for defective exhaust. The statute does not require mechanics to be there on scene to give you advise. If the common person would believe that the exhaust system is louder than the day the vehicle was new... Defective.

Also, you probably see 100s of the same models driving around throughout the months. Only 1 of them is very loud... Defective.

Long time listener