Page 3 of 3 First 123
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: what law enforcement job has the most action?

Forum Member
    Claymore,

I'm a Border Patrol Agent, and have been in law enforcement for over 10 years. (And a member of this forum for 1 day) I can say that you came to the right place to ask your questions. I've read the responses to your initial question, and couldn't agree more. You are getting some great advice from these guys.

First of all, you're only 18. That's not a cheap shot at your age, but you're still young. You have plenty of time, so listen to the advice the guys on this forum give you. 500pearl and GB0610 recommended going to college and joining the Service. NOTHING can prepare you more for the real world than a good education. Service in the military will not only add to that education, but it will prepare you not only for the physical demands of a career in law enforcement, but will teach you discipline as well.

audi0xpl0de made another great point: take writing courses. In law enforcement, you are defined by your writing skills. You may make a great arrest, but if you cannot articulate it in a written report, your credibility is shot.

You asked about a job with a lot of action. That concerns me a little. Not that you want a job in law enforcement that has a lot of action. But, that you may not understand what comes with that. Furrball409 is right. There is A LOT of action in the Border Patrol, and I can say that from experience. I will never talk down any other agency or department, but I have seen my share of action.