Forum Member

Difference between deputy sheriff and police officer?

Hi, I'm a newb and I recently finished the written and physical exams to hopefully launch a career in law enforcement. I am 22 and just graduated from college. Now I'm waiting to take the PHQ. I currently have 2 areas in which I can hopefully enter; either deputy sheriff I, or police officer. My questions is what is the difference, i.e pay scale, duties, jurisdictions, rank? Any info would be much appreciated, and I have the greatest respect for our sworn officers. Thanks!

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by nissandriver View Post
    Hi, I'm a newb and I recently finished the written and physical exams to hopefully launch a career in law enforcement. I am 22 and just graduated from college. Now I'm waiting to take the PHQ. I currently have 2 areas in which I can hopefully enter; either deputy sheriff I, or police officer. My questions is what is the difference, i.e pay scale, duties, jurisdictions, rank? Any info would be much appreciated, and I have the greatest respect for our sworn officers. Thanks!