PDA

View Full Version : Short-lived after retirement?

Jyn
06-12-2007, 12:29 AM
Is what I read here quite some time ago.

There seemed to be a discussion on retirement and the statement "Most cops don't live five years past retirement" came upon the topic.

Overly stressful job, or retire when you're 80; five years away from the average life-span of a male :D

Discuss.

Kpdpipes
06-12-2007, 07:57 AM
That has slowly started to change, as hiring ages reduce. When i came on, the average guy who was an old-timer had gotten hired around age 30, meaning they werent elligible until their mid-late 50's. Now, the average hiring age is 23-24. Other factors are healthier lifestyles, more activities, more departments with physical standards, better health care in general..that all adds up. When I was a newbie we worked around the clock, changing shifts every tour, with double nights trhown in. Almost everyone smoked, ate REALLY bad food as a matter of course, and was no stranger to adult libations off-duty. While the boozing hasnt changed much, the rest has.

PhilipCal
06-12-2007, 12:57 PM
Is what I read here quite some time ago.

There seemed to be a discussion on retirement and the statement "Most cops don't live five years past retirement" came upon the topic.

You guys either have a overly stressful job, or retire when you're 80; five years away from the average life-span of a male :D

Discuss.

Hope you're wrong about the "five year" part. I've only been retired for 18 months.

hemicop
06-12-2007, 02:05 PM