PDA

View Full Version : For C/O's that carry off duty

40calibermikey
08-08-2006, 01:39 PM
So what do you guys carry while off duty? Do you carry a sidearm with cuffs or OC spray etc..? Is there anyone who feels that they do not need to carry a sidearm off duty?

MattCO
08-08-2006, 02:13 PM
i have a cc permit, but very rarely carry my firearm.

Bowles
08-08-2006, 02:27 PM
The longer I work in the Corrections field, the greater the need I feel to carry off duty. Currently I do not. NC C/O's appear to be covered by HB218 but I'm waiting on a reply from the US Attorney General's Office before I feel comfortable exercising that right.
Under NC law C/O's must obtain a CCW. I don't mind paying for the permit, but it chaps my ***** that I have to pay to take a class that I already take every year with the DOC. I'm just stubborn that way.

CO1989
08-08-2006, 05:16 PM
Glock 19 9mm with a 15 round clip (bought out of state), an extra 15 round clip (bought out of state) and a pair of handcuffs. My life has been threatened several times by high ranking gang members. I'm not taking any chances.

Mike

40calibermikey
08-08-2006, 06:17 PM
When you guys carry is it IWB or OWB?

ftlaudcop
08-08-2006, 06:54 PM
all levels of law enforcement should be allowed to carry just for the mere
fact of self protection, their should no difference on who can carry
whether yr police certified, correction certified.

drn151
08-08-2006, 07:18 PM
CC Permit Springfield XD 9. IWB Crossbreed holster

RdSqdCO
08-08-2006, 08:37 PM
I carry H&K USP .45, 3 12rnd mags, shoulder holster, cuffs, ID and Badge, and a crap load of paperwork on HR 218 and proof that NC C/O's are covered by it. Also, I keep my duty belt in my vehicle, therefore I also have pepper spray. :cool: :D

I also carry IWB during summer months

DefendDade
08-08-2006, 10:36 PM
I carry a Glock 19 (15 rounds) in a CTAC IWB

Revelation
08-09-2006, 03:33 AM