PDA

View Full Version : Diplomat Question

RookieD
12-14-2005, 07:16 PM
Diplomat Question

Here is a scenario that was very interesting, what would you do?

Scenario: You have just pulled over a vehicle for suspected DUI. You tailed the vehicle for about half a mile and the vehicle was swerving and crossing over the center divider. You notice the plates are foreign. It turns out to be a foreign diplomat. You can smell alcohol on her/him, and they are refusing to get out of the vehicle.

What would you do?

Additional Resource on immunities: http://www.state.gov/m/ds/immunities/c9127.htm

My Opinion: *Keep in mind I have no law enforcement background (yet). I would ask him/or her to step out of the vehicle. If he/ or she refused, I would inform him/or her that I would like him/or her to step out of the car, so I can talk with him/her. If he/ or she refused, I would ask him/or her if there was anything, I could do to get him/or her to step out of the vehicle. If refused, I would pull him/or her out of the vehicle and cuff them, tow their vehicle, and take him/ or her downtown to spend the night because he/ or she is a danger to public safety.

Would this be reasonable?

jnhdrac
12-14-2005, 07:35 PM
I do not know for certain, but my opinion is you probably can prevent him from driving but not book him into a jail or charge him with a crime. The best bet would be keep him at the scene, assuming he was blistered, and call for another member of the diplomatic staff to come get him. I would avoid transporting him to another location if at all possible. I would also avoid physically snatching him unless you could cleary articulate a danger to him or the public. Merely sitting in the car refusing to get out will probably not meet this requirement.

chineseservant
12-14-2005, 08:20 PM