PDA

View Full Version : Green Card Police Jobs -

napes
08-29-2005, 04:42 AM
Hey everyone,

Im sure youve all been asked this a 100 times over....

Im a 26 year old British chap, who's here in the US legally (obviously!!!) Ive just got my green card and my official immigration status is "permanent resident".

Immidetly prior to emmigrating here i was a Police officer with the Metropolitan Police in London, England. I left in very good standing and have all of the references / discharge papers to prove it.

I want to get back into Law Enforcement now that im over here, but the only problem i have is that im not a US Citizen and current immigration law means that i cant apply for citizenship for another 3 years.

Question is - does anyone know if thier dept will hire somebody who has a green card and isnt a citizen?.

I live in FL but would move no probs at all for the right job, so far ive been able to find a few depts including Chicago PD, Hawaii, Alaska, Some West Virginia dept (incl the state police) but id GREATLY appreciate any directions that anyone may have.

Right now im in Florida, where FL law states that you have to be a US citizen to be a cop - i just need to find the right dept and ill be out of here before you can say "hurricane"

Thanks for your time

Malcolm

CarCop
08-29-2005, 04:56 AM
I can't tell you which departmnet they are but SOME do allow residents to join their departments. As you know that is not the norm. Most departments require citizenship. I believe IL has some that accept reidency, but not sure on what department. Good luck to you.

PS: They have had some threads here not too long ago with more info if you want to do a search.

jakflak
08-29-2005, 05:09 PM
One of the guys I went to the academy with was a British citizen. Our department hires non-citizens if you are legal to work here.

It's the North Slope Borough Police department in Barrow, AK.

http://www.north-slope.org/nsb/default.htm

Tim Dees
08-29-2005, 05:24 PM