PDA

View Full Version : Part Time vs. Full Time Academy?

LEOReady
12-21-2008, 12:19 AM
Curious the thoughts out there regarding going to the academy full or part time. If I am not selected by a department, and end up putting myself through an academy, does it make a difference? The reason I ask is that financially I doubt I could do it full time on my own, but taking the part time for about a year could fit nicely into my schedule.

Do departments care, or are they simply looking for the certification? I am sure the course work is the same, but would departments consider it being completed at a lower intensity level? I am new to the process in Wisconsin only living here a couple years, just curious what thoughts are out there.

Guams
12-21-2008, 05:42 AM
As far as I know, you get the same "certifiable" (you're only "certified" when you're hired by a department) status whether you do the full-time academy or the other one. I'm not exactly sure how the "part-time" academy works... since I did the full-time academy.

ray55
12-21-2008, 11:50 AM
Completing the FT academy will get you into the main stream faster.

Whether you complete a PT or FT academy you're given the same certifiable status. I think doing what works best for you is best. I have not seen where it matters to a Department what academy you went to as long as you are qualified.

firemanmatt
12-21-2008, 03:52 PM
Your options for where to apply multiply by about 20 (rough estimate, but I also think an accurate one) once you are certifiable. You grin and bear it for 13 weeks, and have tons of options in terms of where to apply, or you keep looking into a few departments that will put you through academy and hope you get hired there.