PDA

View Full Version : School Safety Agent Background Questions

SHAUNMMC
09-23-2008, 07:13 PM
Any SSA's know if its worth applying if you have police experience but a no- conviction DUI arrest from 2005.

Do they go by the 5-year gap as they do for police officers?

NYCTNT
09-24-2008, 01:49 AM
Why not just apply and see what happens?

5 year gap is a myth, it is not concrete. Case by case basis.

SHAUNMMC
09-24-2008, 01:30 PM
I want to but when I applied for NYPD as a police officer, I made it to the medical portion and they placed me on review, I assume for the 2005 No conviction DUI. That was November 2007.

I guess I'll just apply.

Bkbadboy75
09-24-2008, 01:36 PM
Apply for it and here's a little secret do 2 years as a SSA and the come over to NYCDOC.......plenty of School Safety Agent even with years on came over. Take the test for NYCDOC and get on a list..

SHAUNMMC
09-24-2008, 05:36 PM
I took the test for doc back in may. havent gotten my scores yet

gbotj
09-24-2008, 06:14 PM
Shaun, DCAS usually takes about 6 months to send out results.

I have heard that NYPD BI's like to see a 3 year gap. Never heard of the 5 year gap before. But as TNT said, it goes case by case.

ImportInvasion
09-24-2008, 09:00 PM
Hey whats up? Im an SSA, and I also had a prior arrest when I got hired. In my case, the arrest took place when I was a teen, so it wasnt too bad. BUT, even though it occurred over five years from when I got on the job, I still had to explain it numerous, numerous times. I must have wrote that story no less than five times, and was questioned numerous times with regard. The only way to know, is to take the test, and go through the process. I cant say it enough,... we are in NEED of officers right now. Its probably the best time ever to get on. And as others have mentioned, if you like corrections, they have an extreme fondness for school safety officers. Our jobs are very similar. About 50% PD, 50% corrections, 100% underpaid. lol

DEcop989